Quartararo tops sandy third Doha GP practice - The Race

Quartararo tops sandy third Doha GP practice

Apr 3 2021
By Valentin Khorounzhiy

Yamaha MotoGP rider Fabio Quartararo headed the two Suzukis in the sandy Saturday afternoon practice session for the Doha Grand Prix in Qatar.

The session was already not expected to have any meaningful impact on the combined practice classification that decides initial passage to Q2 – but with strong gusts of wind kicking up sand across the circuit, it made the running even less meaningful.

Riders were lapping over three seconds slower than Jack Miller’s Friday benchmark for most of the session, and though the pace seemed to ramp up in the final moments, Quartararo’s chequered-flag benchmark of 1m56.064s was still predictably nowhere near Miller’s 1m53.145s.

Fabio Quartararo Yamaha MotoGP Qatar Doha GP

Quartararo’s last-gasp improvement denied Suzuki a 1-2, with Alex Rins and Joan Mir completing the top three instead. Tech3 KTM rider Danilo Petrucci and Quartararo’s factory Yamaha team-mate Vinales made up the rest of the top five.

Of those in the top five in FP3, reigning champion Mir and Petrucci will be forced to fight their way through Q1, which will also feature Avintia Ducati rookies Enea Bastianini and Luca Marini, LCR Honda duo Alex Marquez and Takaaki Nakagami, all three of Petrucci’s fellow KTM riders, factory Honda rider Pol Espargaro and Aprilia’s Lorenzo Savadori.

There were four riders, all of them part of the Ducati camp, that elected either not to run at all or not to set a time in FP3.

“I mean, the bikes don’t like sucking in this dust, nothing likes sucking in this dust. So, just try to avoid it as much as we can,” said Miller, who was among those spending the entirety of the session in his garage.

“We’ve still got FP4, we’ll see then, if we need to adjust anything, we can do it then, it’s a bit closer to qualifying conditions.”

Practice 3 Results

Pos Name Team Bike Gap Next Gap Leader Best Time
1 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m56.064s
2 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.283s +0.283s 1m56.347s
3 Joan Mir Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.103s +0.386s 1m56.45s
4 Danilo Petrucci Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.164s +0.55s 1m56.614s
5 Maverick Viñales Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.033s +0.583s 1m56.647s
6 Franco Morbidelli Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +0.013s +0.596s 1m56.66s
7 Enea Bastianini Avintia Esponsorama Racing Ducati +0.008s +0.604s 1m56.668s
8 Alex Marquez LCR Honda Castrol Honda +0.033s +0.637s 1m56.701s
9 Valentino Rossi Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +0.017s +0.654s 1m56.718s
10 Pol Espargaró Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.071s +0.725s 1m56.789s
11 Miguel Oliveira Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.066s +0.791s 1m56.855s
12 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.078s +0.869s 1m56.933s
13 Iker Lecuona Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.048s +0.917s 1m56.981s
14 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.354s +1.271s 1m57.335s
15 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +0.043s +1.314s 1m57.378s
16 Stefan Bradl Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.072s +1.386s 1m57.45s
17 Aleix Espargaró Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +1.183s +2.569s 1m58.633s
18 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +4.715s +7.284s 2m03.348s

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap

Welcome To
The Race

Thank you for joining The Race community! Your activation email is on its way. Just click on the link in the email to confirm your sign-up (and check your spam folder just in case).
Continue reading
Free Articles Read This Month

Join The Race Community

to the best motorsport coverage,
videos, podcasts and quizzes.
Get the cream of our content direct to your inbox.
Get involved and comment on content.

Join Now!

You Have
Reached Your Limit

The Race has been stopped as you’ve reached your article limit for this month.
To get UNLIMITED FREE access, all you need to do is register.
Click here to get started