Quartararo heads Aragon MotoGP FP3, Marquez down again - The Race

Quartararo heads Aragon MotoGP FP3, Marquez down again

Sep 11 2021
By Valentin Khorounzhiy

MotoGP championship leader Fabio Quartararo topped the Saturday morning MotoGP practice session at Aragon, outpacing Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro by 0.023s.

Quartararo was seventh on combined times on Friday, but managed to find a solution to his final-sector weakness and elevated himself into the top spot with a minute left on the FP3 clock.

Aprilia rider Espargaro then came up just short of toppling him at the flag, with Joan Mir (Suzuki) and Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati) completing the top four as the only other riders to dip below the 1m47s mark.

Friday leader Jack Miller (Ducati) took until the very end to improve on his opening-day time but ultimately did enough for fifth place, just 0.133s off Quartararo, with Ducati stablemate Jorge Martin (Pramac) elevating himself from last place into sixth in the final minutes.

Pol Espargaro, Marc Marquez and Takaaki Nakagami made it three Hondas going directly into Q2, even though Marquez crashed when pushing for an insurance fast lap late on at the sharp Turn 14.

His brother Alex would’ve likely joined the other three RC213Vs in Q2 if not for a late crash of his own that consigned him to contesting Q1.

Instead, Enea Bastianini (Avintia Ducati) completed the Q2 spots, narrowly beating out the likes of Johann Zarco (Pramac Ducati), Cal Crutchlow (Yamaha), Miguel Oliveira (KTM) and Alex Rins (Suzuki).

Aprilia newcomer Maverick Vinales was just 0.863s off Quartararo’s lap but ended up 17th and will contest Q1 later today.

Likewise impressive was Petronas Yamaha stand-in Jake Dixon, last but only 1.496s off the pace and within nine tenths of seven-time MotoGP champion team-mate Valentino Rossi.

Practice 3 Results

Pos Name Team Bike Gap Next Gap Leader Best Time
1 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m46.926s
2 Aleix Espargaró Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +0.023s +0.023s 1m46.949s
3 Joan Mir Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.033s +0.056s 1m46.982s
4 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.002s +0.058s 1m46.984s
5 Jack Miller Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.075s +0.133s 1m47.059s
6 Jorge Martin Pramac Racing Ducati +0.061s +0.194s 1m47.12s
7 Pol Espargaró Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.014s +0.208s 1m47.134s
8 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.051s +0.259s 1m47.185s
9 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +0.071s +0.33s 1m47.256s
10 Enea Bastianini Avintia Esponsorama Racing Ducati +0.02s +0.35s 1m47.276s
11 Johann Zarco Pramac Racing Ducati +0.052s +0.402s 1m47.328s
12 Cal Crutchlow Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.025s +0.427s 1m47.353s
13 Miguel Oliveira Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.036s +0.463s 1m47.389s
14 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.007s +0.47s 1m47.396s
15 Valentino Rossi Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +0.155s +0.625s 1m47.551s
16 Alex Marquez LCR Honda Castrol Honda +0.122s +0.747s 1m47.673s
17 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +0.116s +0.863s 1m47.789s
18 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.016s +0.879s 1m47.805s
19 Iker Lecuona Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.024s +0.903s 1m47.829s
20 Luca Marini SKY VR46 Avintia Team Ducati +0.264s +1.167s 1m48.093s
21 Danilo Petrucci Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.304s +1.471s 1m48.397s
22 Jake Dixon Petronas Yamaha SRT Yamaha +0.025s +1.496s 1m48.422s

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap