Provisional calendar for 2022 MotoGP season revealed - The Race

Provisional calendar for 2022 MotoGP season revealed

Sep 21 2021
By Simon Patterson

The Race’s sources in the MotoGP paddock have revealed the series’ provisional 21-race calendar for 2022, with more races than ever before as it looks to expand its presence further in South East Asia with the addition of a new race in Indonesia.

Combined with the Portimao circuit in Portugal retaining its new place following the pandemic, it means that MotoGP will have a longer-than-ever season.

Sep 21 : Misano MotoGP: Brilliant Bagnaia - too little too late?

The championship will kick off at its traditional season-opener in Qatar, with the Losail International Circuit having already confirmed an early date of March 6 for the opening race. Following that, MotoGP will remain in the east, with the new Mandalika Bay race in Indonesia scheduled for shortly after.

The championship will then head to the Americas for races in both Argentina and Texas, before Portugal kicks off the European leg of the season. The championship will retain a three-week summer break following the new Finnish round, ahead of a rescheduled British Grand Prix at Silverstone on August 7.

The end-of-season flyaway trip to Asia and Australia will have a slightly different format for 2022, losing its three-races-in-a-week structure to be replaced by two sets of two races, with an extended two-week break in between.

Following that, the championship will then return to Europe for the traditional closing race at Valencia.

The provisional GP calendar 2022

March 6: Losail / Qatar
March 20: Mandalika / Indonesia
April 3: Termas de Río Hondo / Argentina
April 10: Circuit of the Americas / Texas
April 24: Portimão / Portugal
May 1: Jerez / Spain
May 15: Le Mans / France
May 29: Mugello / Italy
June 5: Barcelona / Spain
June 19: Sachsenring / Germany
June 26: Assen / Netherlands
July 10: KymiRing / Finland
August 7 : Silverstone / GB
August 21: Red Bull Ring / Austria
September 11: Aragón / Spain
September 18: Misano / San Marino
October 2: Motegi / Japan
October 9: Buriram / Thailand
October 23: Phillip Island / Australia
October 30: Sepang / Malaysia
November 13: Valencia / Spain

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap