Newgarden dominates second Iowa night race

Jul 19 2020
By Jack Benyon

Josef Newgarden scored a supreme and dominant performance to take a first victory of his latest IndyCar title defence at Iowa Speedway, creating a clean sweep for Penske in the double-header.

A caution with 80 laps to go neutralised the field and set up a sprint to the finish, following a crash for Ryan Hunter-Reay where he lost the rear of his car exiting pit road – bizarrely – for the second night in a row.

Newgarden led the majority of the first half of the race, only ceding the lead in pitstop phases, and with two wins and over 1000 laps led at the track, he was always going to be tricky to beat.

He also went into Saturday furious that a frontrunning performance in Friday’s race was wrecked when he was put two laps down by an unfortunately timed caution.

Iowa IndyCar 2020

Oliver Askew had a spell in the lead on an alternative strategy, but Newgarden was back in front soon after the final caution.

At that point it was clear Newgarden and his fellow challengers would need to run a stint of over 70 laps, which was achieved in Friday night’s race, to get to the finish without pitting again.

Newgarden duly dominated the final stretch to lead over 200 of the 250 laps and confirm it was doable on fuel mileage.

The reigning champion’s first win of the season followed team-mate Simon Pagenaud’s Friday night triumph from last on the grid, as Penske halted Ganassi’s early domination of the 2020 campaign.

Penske is competing with 13 drivers in four championships on the same weekend, with IMSA at Sebring, Supercars in Australia, NASCAR at Texas in the Xfinity and Cup Series and IndyCar. Austin Cindric won the Texas Xfinity race earlier in the day, while his dad Tim called Newgarden’s strategy en route to victory. Penske is expected to complete over 20,000 miles this weekend.

It was almost a Penske 1-2-3 in the race. Will Power ending his awful run by scoring only his second top 10 of the year in second place.

That meant the top two finished where they had started, Newgarden becoming the first driver to win from pole in the series at this short oval.

Despite another masterclass from Pagenaud, it was another low starter in Graham Rahal who stole a march into third.

Graham Rahal Will Power

The car unloaded with heavy understeer and the first race was tricky for Rahal as struggled to 12th. But the Rahal Letterman Lanigan team – which improved the car and even changed its livery overnight to give a different sponsor prominence for race two – was much quicker on Saturday despite starting 19th.

While Pagenaud repeated his race one strategy of pitting early on to get track position, Rahal went long in the first stint and then benefited from a caution for Ed Carpenter’s crash on lap 114 of 250.

Rahal closed in on Power in the closing stages but couldn’t make a move to take second position.

Pagenaud once more started at the back due to the fuel pressure problem that had prevented him from running in qualifying. While he made many overtaking moves in the first stint yesterday, he struggled to do so on Saturday but his first stop being short put him into a top 10 position for the rest of the race.

Scott Dixon – who finished second in race one – again came close to Pagenaud at the last, but had to settle for fifth. He started in 18th, showing his and Pagenaud’s prowess at coming through the field.

Askew’s strategy put him in position to benefit from any late stops, but after the final caution only Conor Daly pitted ahead for an extra splash of fuel and Askew – a first time podium-finisher on Friday – took sixth, ahead of a strong weekend for Jack Harvey.

Askew’s Arrow McLaren SP team-mate Patricio O’Ward narrowly missed out on a podium to Askew in the first race, but ran second and looked like Newgarden’s closest challenger throughout the second race.

However an issue at his last pitstop meant O’Ward had to be rolled back into his pit box after he’d tried to leave. He recovered to 12th and the first car a lap down at the finish

Alexander Rossi had to pit with Askew at the last caution but turned 21st into eighth after sixth in race one.

Marcus Ericsson has scored top 10s in all but one race this year and maintained that run with ninth. A slow second pit stop phase cost the Ganassi driver vital spots.

Marco Andretti rebounded from not being able to change gears in race one to a top 10 in race two, ahead of Tony Kanaan – who is running the oval races this year as part of a farewell tour in IndyCar, despite refusing to rule out more races in 2021.

Race Results

PosNameTeamCarLapsLaps LedTotal TimeFastest LapPitstopsPts
1Josef NewgardenPenskeDallara-Chevrolet2502141h38m40.518s19.192s354
2Will PowerPenskeDallara-Chevrolet2502+2.787s19.36s341
3Graham RahalRahal Letterman LaniganDallara-Honda25013+3.565s19.643s336
4Simon PagenaudPenskeDallara-Chevrolet2500+6.125s19.582s432
5Scott DixonChip GanassiDallara-Honda2502+6.576s19.635s431
6Oliver AskewMcLarenDallara-Chevrolet25010+16.001s19.862s329
7Jack HarveyMeyer ShankDallara-Honda2500+16.619s19.576s426
8Alexander RossiAndrettiDallara-Honda2500+17.887s19.411s324
9Marcus EricssonChip GanassiDallara-Honda2500+18.521s19.443s422
10Marco AndrettiAndretti HertaDallara-Honda2500+20.018s20.101s420
11Tony KanaanA.J. FoytDallara-Chevrolet2500+20.743s19.722s419
12Patricio O'WardMcLarenDallara-Chevrolet2491+1 lap19.495s319
13Conor DalyCarlinDallara-Chevrolet2494+1 lap19.621s418
14Alex PalouDale CoyneDallara-Honda2490+1 lap19.609s316
15Felix RosenqvistChip GanassiDallara-Honda2480+2 laps19.835s315
16Charlie KimballA.J. FoytDallara-Chevrolet2480+2 laps19.903s414
17Rinus VeeKayEd CarpenterDallara-Chevrolet2480+2 laps19.873s313
18Santino FerrucciDale CoyneDallara-Honda2470+3 laps19.487s512
19Colton HertaAndretti Harding SteinbrennerDallara-Honda2470+3 laps19.671s611
20Zach VeachAndrettiDallara-Honda2470+3 laps19.779s310
21Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganDallara-Honda2470+3 laps19.945s59
Ryan Hunter-ReayAndrettiDallara-Honda1784DNF19.606s59
Ed CarpenterEd CarpenterDallara-Chevrolet1120DNF19.539s27
Josef Newgarden Penske wins Iowa IndyCar 2020

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link

Adblock Detected

We have detected that you are using an adblocker browser plugin to disable advertising from loading on our website.
The revenue earned from advertising enables us to provide the quaity of content you're trying to reach on this site. In order to view this page, we request that you disable adblock in your plugin settings.
I have disabled adblock for this site. Reload this page.