Hamilton tops third practice, Ocon in bizarre crash - The Race
Formula 1

Hamilton tops third practice, Ocon in bizarre crash

Aug 15 2020
By Matt Beer

Lewis Hamilton led a final Spanish Grand Prix practice halted early by a heavy crash in traffic for Esteban Ocon.

The issue of cars slowing to try to keep tyres cool and find clear space for fast laps has become prominent in recent races, and came to a head this morning with Ocon’s crash.

The Renault driver had allowed Kevin Magnussen past through Turn 3, then encountered the Haas again between Turns 4 and 5.

The slowing Magnussen moved to the middle of the road attempting to get out of the way, but Ocon had already committed to the same spot and slewed into the wall in avoidance.

With only two minutes left on the clock at that point, the red flag for the crash marked the end of the session.

Prior to that incident, which is under investigation by the stewards, the story had been more Mercedes domination but with Red Bull’s Max Verstappen closing the gap to the top two.

Valtteri Bottas had been fastest for much of the session, his early 1m17.971s heading Hamilton by over three tenths of a second and Hamilton still a tenth adrift even when he improved later on his run.

Bottas then raised the bar to a 1m17.373s on Mercedes’ later run but was beaten by Hamilton’s subsequent 1m17.222s.

Having been 0.8s-0.9s off Mercedes on Friday, Verstappen got within 0.189s of Bottas’s benchmark in the first half of today’s session before the gap stretched to 0.515s on the final runs.

Carlos Sainz Jr had a strong session for McLaren in fourth, just ahead of Sergio Perez’s Racing Point, the lead Ferrari of Charles Leclerc and Pierre Gasly’s AlphaTauri.

The second Red Bull of Alex Albon was back in ninth between Lance Stroll and Daniel Ricciardo, while Sebastian Vettel was down in 12th behind Ocon.

Practice 3 Results

Pos Name Car Best Time Gap Leader
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m17.222s
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m17.373s +0.151s
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda 1m17.737s +0.515s
4 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren-Renault 1m18.046s +0.824s
5 Sergio Pérez Racing Point-Mercedes 1m18.096s +0.874s
6 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1m18.193s +0.971s
7 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda 1m18.211s +0.989s
8 Lance Stroll Racing Point-Mercedes 1m18.309s +1.087s
9 Alex Albon Red Bull-Honda 1m18.371s +1.149s
10 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1m18.384s +1.162s
11 Esteban Ocon Renault 1m18.602s +1.38s
12 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m18.707s +1.485s
13 Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 1m18.71s +1.488s
14 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1m18.721s +1.499s
15 Lando Norris McLaren-Renault 1m18.803s +1.581s
16 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri-Honda 1m18.852s +1.63s
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 1m18.94s +1.718s
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1m19.175s +1.953s
19 George Russell Williams-Mercedes 1m19.297s +2.075s
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes 1m19.764s +2.542s

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap