What happened in third MotoGP practice at Le Mans - The Race

What happened in third MotoGP practice at Le Mans

May 14 2022
By Valentin Khorounzhiy

Local hero Johann Zarco led a Ducati 1-2 in the third MotoGP practice of the French Grand Prix weekend at Le Mans.

Key moments:

> Zarco pips Bagnaia to the spot
> Friday star Bastianini has bike expire, but sneaks into Q2
> Three Hondas in Q2, including a crashing Espargaro
> Martin, Mir, Vinales to Q1

Minutes after Friday pace-setter Enea Bastianini had to park a smoking Ducati GP21 down the escape road his Le Mans lap record was gone, as Fabio Quartararo fired in the first-ever sub-1m31s MotoGP lap of the Bugatti circuit.

The lap came with 10 minutes left on the clock, and as the session drew closer to the end the record was reclaimed by Ducati – with Francesco Bagnaia going nearly three tenths quicker with his 1m30.568s.

Yamaha man Quartararo himself would improve as the chequered flag fell, but he came up a tenth short of deposing Bagnaia, only for Quartararo’s compatriot Zarco to then pull it off with a 1m30.537s on his Pramac-run Ducati moments later.

Honda’s Marc Marquez completed the top four behind the trio, having chosen to follow Quartararo on both of his late-session soft rear tyre runs, while Jack Miller (Ducati) and Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) completed the top six.

Last-gasp improvements from Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda) and Alex Rins (Suzuki) booked them spots in Q2 at the expense of Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) and Maverick Vinales (Aprilia).

Pol Espargaro had a big crash at La Musee around the halfway point in the session, but recovered to put a third Honda directly into Q2.

Martin actually finished FP3 in 10th, but was 11th in the combined classification as Bastianini never improved on his Friday benchmark – which proved good enough to book him a Q2 spot by 0.003s.

Alongside him and Vinales, Q1 will also feature Suzuki’s 2020 champion Joan Mir, all four KTMs – led by Brad Binder – and factory Yamaha rider Franco Morbidelli among others.

Practice 3 Results

Pos Name Team Bike Gap Next Gap Leader Best Time
1 Johann Zarco Pramac Racing Ducati 1m30.537s
2 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.031s +0.031s 1m30.568s
3 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.114s +0.145s 1m30.682s
4 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.103s +0.248s 1m30.785s
5 Jack Miller Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.052s +0.3s 1m30.837s
6 Aleix Espargaró Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.149s +0.449s 1m30.986s
7 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +0.076s +0.525s 1m31.062s
8 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.025s +0.55s 1m31.087s
9 Pol Espargaró Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.015s +0.565s 1m31.102s
10 Jorge Martin Pramac Racing Ducati +0.049s +0.614s 1m31.151s
11 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.018s +0.632s 1m31.169s
12 Joan Mir Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.059s +0.691s 1m31.228s
13 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0s +0.691s 1m31.228s
14 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.125s +0.816s 1m31.353s
15 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.05s +0.866s 1m31.403s
16 Enea Bastianini Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.136s +1.002s 1m31.539s
17 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.054s +1.056s 1m31.593s
18 Miguel Oliveira Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.106s +1.162s 1m31.699s
19 Franco Morbidelli Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.017s +1.179s 1m31.716s
20 Andrea Dovizioso WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha +0.131s +1.31s 1m31.847s
21 Remy Gardner Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.04s +1.35s 1m31.887s
22 Alex Marquez LCR Honda Castrol Honda +0.115s +1.465s 1m32.002s
23 Raul Fernandez Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +1.081s +2.546s 1m33.083s
24 Darryn Binder WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha +0.158s +2.704s 1m33.241s

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap