Da Costa fastest in opening Marrakesh session - The Race
Formula E

Da Costa fastest in opening Marrakesh session

Feb 28 2020

Antonio Felix da Costa was fastest in the first Formula E free practice session for this weekend’s Marrakesh E-Prix.

The DS Techeetah driver set a fastest lap time of 1m17.863s in the late-Friday-afternoon practice, the first session of the Formula E weekend running earlier than usual owing to sunrise and sunset times in Morocco – after the first session of last year’s event was completed in relative darkness.

Da Costa had been the driver to beat for much of the session, taking the top spot around the midway point and slipping down the order briefly when a flurry of fast laps happened in the latter half of the 45 minute running, before once again setting the pace.

Mitch Evans – winner in Mexico last time out – was second for Jaguar, ahead of Santiago winner Max Gunther.

Nissan’s Oliver Rowland was fourth, with Lucas di Grassi and Sam Bird behind him in fifth and sixth respectively.

Sebastien Buemi placed seventh, followed by Daniel Abt, Jerome D’Ambrosio and Robin Frijns completing the top 10.

James Rossiter

Jean-Eric Vergne – reigning Formula E champion and Da Costa’s DS Techeetah team-mate – was notably absent from the session after suffering from severe migraines over the course of the last 24 hours.

Vergne was replaced by DS Techeetah test and reserve driver James Rossiter (pictured above), who placed 20th in his first outing in an official Formula E race weekend session.

Rossiter will also take part in Sunday’s rookie test for the team alongside Filipe Albuquerque.

What did you think of this story?

Practice one times

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Antonio Felix da Costa DS Techeetah 1m17.863s - 25
2 Mitch Evans Jaguar 1m17.966s +0.103s 24
3 Maximilian Gunther BMW 1m18.062s +0.199s 21
4 Oliver Rowland Nissan 1m18.311s +0.448s 24
5 Lucas di Grassi Audi 1m18.418s +0.555s 21
6 Sam Bird Virgin 1m18.421s +0.558s 22
7 Sebastien Buemi Nissan 1m18.454s +0.591s 23
8 Daniel Abt Audi 1m18.469s +0.606s 22
9 Jerome d'Ambrosio Mahindra 1m18.537s +0.674s 21
10 Robin Frijns Virgin 1m18.554s +0.691s 20
11 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra 1m18.717s +0.854s 24
12 Andre Lotterer Porsche 1m18.912s +0.949s 17
13 Edoardo Mortara Venturi 1m19.034s +1.171s 24
14 Alexander Sims BMW 1m19.064s +1.201s 22
15 James Calado Jaguar 1m19.090s +1.227s 24
16 Oliver Turvey NIO333 1m19.156s +1.293s 26
17 Brendon Hartley Dragon 1m19.156s +1.293s 22
18 Nico Muller Dragon 1m19.222s +1.359s 22
19 Nyck de Vries Mercedes 1m19.492s +1.629s 26
20 James Rossiter DS Techeetah 1m19.813s +1.950s 21
21 Felipe Massa Venturi 1m19.819s +1.956s 24
22 Neel Jani Porsche 1m19.990s +2.217s 25
23 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes 1m20.044s +2.181s 24
24 Ma Qing Hua NIO333 1m22.171s +4.308s 26
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap