Bird leads Mexico Formula E practice - The Race
Formula E

Bird leads Mexico Formula E practice

Feb 15 2020

Sam Bird ended practice for Formula E’s Mexico City E-Prix on top for Virgin Racing.

Bird was the final driver to grab first place in a frantic flurry of new benchmark times in the closing minutes.

His 1m07.672s lap was just over a tenth of a second clear of DS Techeetah driver Antonio Felix da Costa in second.

Long-time pacesetter Mitch Evans’s Jaguar was knocked down the order in the late battle before vaulting back to third.

Nissan e.dams’ Sebastien Buemi and leading Mercedes runner Stoffel Vandoorne completed the top five.

Santiago race winner Maximilian Gunther was down in 16th after nosing his BMW into the barriers at the entrance to the stadium section late on.

Reigning champion Jean-Eric Vergne was also off the pace, making clear his discomfort with the DS Techeetah’s set-up over the radio as he only managed 10th fastest.

The opening practice session was hampered by a damp track from overnight rain and truncated by a big crash for Daniel Abt.

The Audi driver ploughed into the barriers at the right-hander heading into the stadium section in an impact that triggered the car’s g-loading sensor and prompted a mandatory hospital visit for checks.

Venturi’s Edoardo Mortara was fastest at the time of the crash, ahead of the two Mahindras. Mortara ended up 21st in practice two.

What did you think of this story?

Mexico City Practice 2

1 Sam Bird 1:07.672 - Audi e-tron FE06
2 António Félix da Costa 1:07.791 0.119 DS E-TENSE FE20
3 Mitch Evans 1:08.025 0.353 Jaguar I-Type IV
4 Sebastien Buemi 1:08.085 0.413 Nissan IM02
5 Stoffel Vandoorne 1:08.103 0.431 Mercedes-Benz EQ Silver Arrow 01
6 Robin Frijns 1:08.148 0.476 Audi e-tron FE06
7 Andre Lotterer 1:08.167 0.495 Porsche 99X Electric
8 Pascal Wehrlein 1:08.181 0.509 Mahindra M6Electro
9 Lucas Di Grassi 1:08.304 0.632 Audi e-tron FE06
10 Jean-Eric Vergne 1:08.354 0.682 DS E-TENSE FE20
11 Jerome D'ambrosio 1:08.542 0.87 Mahindra M6Electro
12 Neel Jani 1:08.609 0.937 Porsche 99X Electric
13 Felipe Massa 1:08.683 1.011 Mercedes-Benz EQ silver Arrow 01
14 Nico Muller 1:08.703 1.031 PENSKE EV-4
15 Nick De Vries 1:08.713 1.041 Mercedes-Benz EQ Silver Arrow 01
16 Max Gunther 1:08.968 1.296 BMW iFE.20
17 James Calado 1:09.140 1.468 Jaguar I-Type IV
18 Alexander Sims 1:09.161 1.489 BMW iFE.20
19 Brendon Hartley 1:09.363 1.691 PENSKE EV-4
20 Oliver Rowland 1:09.417 1.745 Nissan IM02
21 Edoardo Mortara 1:09.645 1.973 Mercedes-Benz EQ Silver Arrow 01
22 Ma Qinghua 1:10.780 3.108 NIO FE-005
23 Oliver Turvey 1:10.830 3.158 NIO FE-005
24 Daniel Abt No time - Audi e-tron FE06
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap