Hamilton takes record-equalling Eifel GP win, Bottas out - The Race
Formula 1

Hamilton takes record-equalling Eifel GP win, Bottas out

Oct 11 2020
By Matt Beer

Lewis Hamilton equalled Michael Schumacher’s all-time record of 91 Formula 1 wins at the Eifel Grand Prix, and stretched out a 69-point championship lead as Valtteri Bottas retired.

Hamilton immediately took the lead at the Nurburgring with a better start than polesitter Bottas, but after both Mercedes ran very deep into the first corner Bottas managed to muscle back in front into Turn 2.

Bottas, Hamilton and Max Verstappen’s Red Bull then ran relatively close for the first 13 laps before Bottas had a huge lock-up at the first corner.

Hamilton drove around the outside of his team-mate as he recovered, and then sprinted away, while Bottas pitted immediately to get rid of his flat-spotted tyres.

He lost further ground behind Daniel Ricciardo’s yet-to-stop Renault and because Hamilton and Verstappen managed to make their first pitstops during a virtual safety car period.

And any hope of Bottas getting back into contention ended when he had to retire with an MGU-K problem.

Verstappen fell as much as 10s behind Hamilton in the middle of the race. A late safety car closed them back up, but Verstappen was more occupied with resisting Ricciardo at the restart than chasing Hamilton – whose record-matching win was his seventh in 11 races this year.

Verstappen did at least pinch fastest lap from Hamilton on the race’s very last lap.

Ricciardo fended off pressure from Sergio Perez’s Racing Point to take the current Renault project’s first podium finish and his first since leaving Red Bull.

Motor Racing Formula One World Championship Eifel Grand Prix Race Day Nurbugring, Germany

While Carlos Sainz Jr resisted Pierre Gasly’s AlphaTauri to complete the top five, engine problems slowed, infuriated and eventually forced out Sainz’s team-mate Lando Norris, whose parked McLaren caused the late safety car.

Norris was among a surprisingly large number of retirements. Alex Albon pitted early after flatspotting his tyres, picked up a penalty for clashing with Daniil Kvyat as the AlphaTauri rejoined after a trip over the grass and then stopped with a power unit problem.

A gearshift issue took Esteban Ocon out when he was in the top five, and George Russell had to retire his Williams with damage from an aerial spin when Kimi Raikkonen hit him as they diced with Sebastian Vettel.

That prompted the early VSC, and earned Raikkonen – in his record 323rd start – a penalty. He finished 12th.

Charles Leclerc fell back from his fourth on the grid to seventh, while Nico Hulkenberg brilliantly came from 20th to eighth on his latest stand-in appearance for Racing Point.

Romain Grosjean made a one-stop strategy and long second stint on hard tyres work to score his first 2020 points in ninth for Haas, fellow off fellow first-time-2020-scorer Antonio Giovinazzi’s Alfa Romeo, early spinner Vettel and Raikkonen.

Race Results

Pos Name Car Laps Laps Led Total Time Fastest Lap Pitstops Pts
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 60 48 1h35m49.641s 1m28.145s 2 25
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda 60 0 +4.47s 1m28.139s 2 19
3 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 60 0 +14.613s 1m29.584s 2 15
4 Sergio Pérez Racing Point-Mercedes 60 0 +16.07s 1m29.7s 2 12
5 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren-Renault 60 0 +21.905s 1m30.129s 2 10
6 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda 60 0 +22.766s 1m30.11s 2 8
7 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 60 0 +30.814s 1m30.712s 2 6
8 Nico Hülkenberg Racing Point-Mercedes 60 0 +32.596s 1m30.733s 2 4
9 Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 60 0 +39.081s 1m31.562s 1 2
10 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 60 0 +40.035s 1m30.909s 2 1
11 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 60 0 +40.81s 1m30.408s 2 0
12 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 60 0 +41.476s 1m30.512s 2 0
13 Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 60 0 +49.585s 1m30.456s 2 0
14 Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes 60 0 +54.449s 1m31.377s 2 0
15 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri-Honda 60 0 +55.588s 1m32.214s 2 0
Lando Norris McLaren-Renault 42 0 DNF 1m32.328s 1 0
Alex Albon Red Bull-Honda 22 0 DNF 1m32.33s 2 0
Esteban Ocon Renault 21 0 DNF 1m33.189s 1 0
Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 17 12 DNF 1m31.884s 2 0
George Russell Williams-Mercedes 12 0 DNF 1m34.526s 1 0
Motor Racing Formula One World Championship Eifel Grand Prix Race Day Nurbugring, Germany

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link

Adblock Detected

We have detected that you are using an adblocker browser plugin to disable advertising from loading on our website.
The revenue earned from advertising enables us to provide the quaity of content you're trying to reach on this site. In order to view this page, we request that you disable adblock in your plugin settings.
I have disabled adblock for this site. Reload this page.

Welcome To
The Race

Thank you for joining The Race community! Your activation email is on its way. Just click on the link in the email to confirm your sign-up (and check your spam folder just in case).
Continue reading
Free Articles Read This Month

Join The Race Community

to the best motorsport coverage,
videos, podcasts and quizzes.
Get the cream of our content direct to your inbox.
Get involved and comment on content.

Join Now!

You Have
Reached Your Limit

The Race has been stopped as you’ve reached your article limit for this month.
To get UNLIMITED FREE access, all you need to do is register.
Click here to get started