Red Bull victorious in second Le Mans Esports Series - The Race
Esports, WEC/Le Mans

Red Bull victorious in second Le Mans Esports Series

Sep 19 2020
By Nathan Quinn

Red Bull Racing Esports won the second running of the Le Mans Esports Series, as a necessary format change turned the in-person 24-hour event to a series of online-only, six-hour long events spread over four days.

Red Bull was one of the three Pro teams to make the final day, along with Lazarus and Williams Esports.

A $35,000 winners prize was split between Red Bull’s trio of drivers, Aurelien Mallet, Robin Betka and Alexandre Arnou, as they outscored second-placed Lazarus by 63 points.

The series win means Red Bull has taken its second team title from a Forza Motorsport 7 competition in two years as the energy drink giant’s esports team also came out on top in the 2019 Forza Racing Championship.

Williams had a difficult day as Kuba Brzezinski retired from the first of three races in the final day due to a game crash.

The second race also saw the Williams Esports’ driver Nikodem Wisniewski fail to finish due to a technical issue, with his team mate Isaac Price retiring just two laps later.

Their fortunes changed in the final race as Brzezinski fought his way from the back of the grid to fight with Mallet and Betka for first place.

A slow exit from the pits for Mallet put Brzezinski into second and in the middle of the three-car pack.

On lap 24 of 30б Brzezinski was able to pull alongside Betka on the exit of the first chicane on the Mulsanne straight and brake later for the second chicane to move into the lead.

Betka’s second-place finish came as a shock considering that, over the four days of the Super Final, he won every race he took part in before the final one.

Reigning Le Mans Esports Series champion Veloce Esports was added into the Super Final as a wildcard entry but the team was knocked out at the end of the third day.

While Red Bull ended on top in the Pro class, LM Legends was the highest-placed Pro-Am team.

The Pro-Am teams were comprised of drivers who qualified through the various hotlap qualifying events, with Alex Harrison, Johan Bergera and former Williams Esports driver Gary Mitchell making up the championship-winning team.

A winners prize of $17,500 went to the LM Legends team, with each of the drivers receiving an equal share.

Hairpin Heroes entered the final race of the day second in the Pro-Am class and only four points behind LM Legends, but a disconnection for both Hyuk Jung and Nathaniel Stormski dropped their team to third in class and behind the Hotlappers team.

1956 Jaguar D Type

What did you think of this story?

Share via
Copy link

Adblock Detected

We have detected that you are using an adblocker browser plugin to disable advertising from loading on our website.
The revenue earned from advertising enables us to provide the quaity of content you're trying to reach on this site. In order to view this page, we request that you disable adblock in your plugin settings.
I have disabled adblock for this site. Reload this page.

Welcome To
The Race

Thank you for joining The Race community! Your activation email is on its way. Just click on the link in the email to confirm your sign-up (and check your spam folder just in case).
Continue reading
Free Articles Read This Month

Join The Race Community

to the best motorsport coverage,
videos, podcasts and quizzes.
Get the cream of our content direct to your inbox.
Get involved and comment on content.

Join Now!

You Have
Reached Your Limit

The Race has been stopped as you’ve reached your article limit for this month.
To get UNLIMITED FREE access, all you need to do is register.
Click here to get started